Fast Track Special Courts (FTSCs)

    Fast Track Special Courts (FTSCs)

    Championing the cause of safety and security of women and girl child, the Government provided for stringent punishment including death penalty for perpetrators of rape by passing the Criminal Law (Amendment) Act, 2018. Incidents of sexual offences and prolonged trials of accused necessitated dedicated court machinery to provide immediate relief to the victims. Since October 2019, the Department of Justice is implementing a Centrally Sponsored Scheme, to set up 1023 Fast Track Special Courts (FTSCs) including 389 exclusive POCSO Courts across the nation for expeditious trial relating to sexual offences. Each court comprises of 1 Judicial Officer and 7 Staff Members. Out of 31 States and UTs eligible, 28 have joined this scheme (Arunachal Pradesh, West Bengal and A&N Island are yet to join).

    The Scheme was initially for a period of one year spread over two Financial Years 2019-20 and 2020-21 at a total outlay of Rs. 767.25 Cr. with Rs. 474 Cr. as Central Share to be met from Nirbhaya Fund. In FY 2019-20, Rs. 140 Cr and in FY 2020-21, Rs.160.00 Cr was released to States as Central Share. The Cabinet further approved the continuation of the Scheme of FTSCs for two years i.e. up to March, 2023 with a total budgetary outlay of Rs. 1572.86 Cr. with Rs.971.70 Cr. as central share.

    As on February 2022, 712 FTSCs including 399 exclusive POCSO Courts are functional in 27 States / UTs which disposed 81,462 pending cases. During the financial year 2021-22, a total of Rs. 134.56 Cr. has been released as Central share of funds for the functioning of such FTSCs in the States/UTs.

    For the robust implementation of the Scheme, this Department has created an online monitoring framework for monthly monitoring of case statistics. Regular review meetings with the Registrar Generals of High Courts and State functionaries are being undertaken.