Special Courts for MP/MLA

    Last updated: 13-12-2023


    As directed by the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India vide its Orders dated 01.11.2017 and 14.12.2017, the Union Government facilitated setting up of 12 Special Courts in States, for expeditious trial of criminal cases involving MP/MLAs. Accordingly, 12 Special Courts (02 in NCT of Delhi and 01 each in the state of UP, Bihar, WB, MP, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil Nadu and Kerala) were constituted. 10 Special Courts are presently functional in 9 States (Special court of Bihar and Kerala were discontinued as per direction of the apex court dated 04.12.2018). Performance of these special courts is being monitored by the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India.

    For more information visit